Big Ideas from a Small World

Conflicted about Goo

Posted in Too Close To Call by Ryan Thomas on February 27, 2009

I’m a little conflicted about Cadbury’s new HERE TODAY, GOO TOMORROW / Release the Goo concept.

There is no arguing that the spots are cute, or that they’re a drastic departure from the clucking bunny that has been synonymous with the brand since I was a child.

It’s hard to even argue that the spots have not stretched this brand-fitting concept into some amazingly unique executions:

So why the apprehension?

Because of Andy Riley’s The Book of Bunny Suicides.

The idea is almost more approchable with gooey eggs.

The idea is almost more approachable with gooey eggs.

I can’t see these Cadbury spots without thinking of the striking resemblance these spots bare to this cartoonists work. I can almost picture client walking into Saatchi & Saatchi and saying:

“Right, it’s about time we kill the bunny. How is Saatchi & Saatchi going to make that happen?”

I don’t want to say they lifted this great piece of pop culture but I think it must have been a point of inspiration for these spots.

I can’t be alone on this right?

(And speaking of great executions, look at how S&S is snuff’n eggs in Toronto)

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bannon said, on March 2, 2009 at 10:53 am

    I completely agree with you. I think I was about 1 second into my second spot and I said to my self ‘this is bunny suicides’. Now isn’t that what we do though? Take a brilliant piece of pop culture and adopt it to fit the solution for our brand? But how far can you leverage another work before you are simply biting it? Or can these spots be viewed more as an homage to the bunny suicides?

  2. […] blogged about campaign before, but the egg is near doom day. Tagged with: Bunny Suicides, Cadbury, great executions, […]


Leave a Reply

