Big Ideas from a Small World

I hope my next office has a pickled punk. Thank you Ogilvy & Mather

Posted in Shop Talk by Ryan Thomas on March 15, 2009

Sometimes I feel like most advertising employees feel like carnies. Secret lingo, like marks, pickled punks, shill, or ride jock, would slide into the average advertising agency with little notice.

So imagine my supremo shock when I saw Ogilvy & Mather’s Guangzhou office in China.  This office is up for China’s Most Successful Design Award 2008. I hope they see the carnies metaphors as clearly as I do:

(These images are via The Cool Hunter, who although cool made no mention of the tattooed hard drinking chain smoking staff that run the ‘ride’, to which I call shenanigans)

ogil1

ogil2

ogil

To learn more about carnies click here.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

