Big Ideas from a Small World

Money just burning a hole in your pocket?

Posted in Going somewhere? by Ryan Thomas on March 25, 2009

stimulant_takeover

When I tried to log on to Stimulant this morning I was met with this awesome 7 samurai as gorillas image. The event is a little cash heavy in these trying times but if you can rally the $300 I’m sure it will be an interesting day, and I have seen a lot more money spent for an event of this calibre.

That being said I have to give praise to Adverting Week in NYC’s Matt Scheckner for putting on so many free events for the community. It’s worth the trip down. I know that the ICA is building on its Canadian Advertising Week by trying to do the same in 2010.

Often the people who take away the most for these events are those junior staff who are last in line for tickets. I hope that as the date nears Stimulant will offer a student and junior discount.

Now the only issue is I’m torn as to going to this event or buying a fixie that makes me look like an art director:

repub

Republic ships you a bag of parts for $344 and you build it yourself. That’s why the price is so very low. The other bonus is that you can get parts in any colour and customize your own bike. Someone needs to do a probono for these guys – it’s got a wonderful set of USP’s and a quirky brand personality.

If you’re an art director looking for a balling way to roll into work, click on their site and build your own skittles bike.

Art, event management and strategy in one post. Now all I have to do is find away to post Fallon’s HD experiment and I’m done for the day!

Sweet…

Leave a Reply

